Trilogy of Lord Shiva consists of three books, which got released eventually over the past three years written by Amish Tripathi. “The Immortals of Meluha,” “The Secret of Nagas,” and “The Oath of the Vayuputhras” are three books in the trilogy. One should find a time to read these books and understand Lord Shiva more carefully. The trilogy depicts on how the Tibetan tribal leader Shiva transfigures to Lord Shiva.

The Immortals of Meluha
The Secret of The Nagas
Oath of the Vayuputras




Amish can be called as a boring banker who turned to a happy author. He is an IIM graduate who was working in the financial service field. He gave up that profession due to the passion for writing and entirely focused on it. He is also passionate about history, mythology, philosophy and to find meaning and beauty in all the religions across the globe.

His trilogy books on Lord Shiva had sold over a million copies in the Indian subcontinent since 2010. Plans in writing are also related to the mythological beliefs and history. He is now a happy author living with his wife, Preeti and son Neel.



In “The Immortals of Meluha,” Amish portrayed the most cherished god of Hindu Mythology- Lord Shiva. He painted Shiva as an ordinary man– a Tibetan tribal leader who gradually becomes the God, but for the fellow readers, he will become a friend identified with his humanity.
Amish never tried to exhibit this series as an alternative to the mythology, but his characters have a semi-connection with the mythological figures. The first book in the series, The Immortals of Meluha, introduces Shiva, as the Tibetan tribal leader who is from the warrior tribe known as Gunas. He, on the request from King Dhaksha, arrives at the fictional city Meluha which has been continually attacked by terrorists from the Chandravanshi tribe who believed to have an alliance with Nagas.

Nagas were considered lower to Meluhians. Anyone who has a physical deformity in Meluha will be considered as Nagas and will be sent to them. Meanwhile, Shiva recognized as “Neelkant“-  an incarnation of Mahadev. It was due to the blue colour of Shiva’s neck which happened after drink the healing potion, Samaras.

This book also describes the love between Shiva and Sati, daughter of King Dhaksha which turned out to be my favourite part. Sati is considered as a Vikarama (an untouchable) who has to suffer in the present life due to actions happened in the past life. Due to this Sati refuses Shiva’s proposal for which Shiva challenges and questions the Vikarma belief.

The second book, The Secret of Nagas, in which Siva plays as a Savoir leaving his homeland to fight against evil. Shiva and Sati got married. Siva believed Nagas as evil, but in this book, he came to know that they are not evils. The whole book depicts how he came to know about the secrets of Nagas and the relation of the leaders of Nagas with Sati. So many dramatic incidents are happening in this book.

In the final book, The Oath of Vayuputhras, the final revealing of Evils happens when Shiva finally gathers all his powers and reaches the Naga capital, Panchavati. He got prepared for a holy war against his true enemy. Shiva, in his desperation not to fail, reaches out for help from Vayuputhras. In this, the struggle between the “Good” and “bad” has been plotted. We finally come to know that the evil is the Somras.


There was an excellent response for the first two, especially for the second one. But my personal opinion is, the third one was little dragging. There was a little due for the third book’s release which hyped the expectations to the sky level. But it was disappointing for me. The first two books have maintained a pace and interest in the readers and the second book was a thriller amongst the three. But in the third, it was flooded with the words “Good and Bad.” It made me little bored and kept the pace away from me.

It was disappointing for me to find a not so exciting end to third and final book in the series. I think it may be because of the high standard and perfection of the first two books which automatically made me expect more from the third.


Amish might have been criticised for depicting Lord Shiva in a different version without many Devine powers and very much adjacent to simple fellow being. But I think that’s the beauty of the series which truly and on all the counts is the imaginative fiction made out of the mythological characters. And so he has his heart and soul freedom to render the story.

The attempt he made to characterize Lord Shiva as a pure human being should be acknowledged. Kudos Amish Tripathi.



A brave attempt has been done at mythology with beautiful descriptions of epic proportions. The characterizations and the research he had done for it should get a standing ovation. The trilogy of Lord Shiva is a great success and is bagging a movie deal recently.


The Immortals of Meluha
The Secret of The Nagas
Oath of the Vayuputras




You might also like

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. AcceptRead More

We Know You Better!
Subscribe To Our Newsletter
Be the first to get latest updates and
exclusive content straight to your email inbox.
No Thanks!